The Experienced Mom’s Registry

Baby number 3 is just weeks away! Yikes, where have 7.5 months gone?! It dawned me the other day I should probably do a few things to be ready for our new addition.See, that’s the difference between the first child and the third. By this time with Gracie the nursery had been set up for a few weeks. I was about to have a baby shower. All the tiny clothes were washed and put away. I even had a diaper bag packed for the hospital. This time… “hmm, 33 weeks. That means I just have 7 weeks to go. Maybe I should get ready? Maybe?”

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done a few things up until now. I did get out the baby girl things we had saved. I did determine we could not fit a third seat in our car, so we got to go car shopping (yay…blech!) I just don’t feel any rush this time. And to be honest, I’ve learned a few things since Gracie was born; and a few more since Skeet.

One thing I’ve learned is that you really don’t need that much stuff. I am a sucker for cute clothes so I’ve purchased some new things for Laney. And I did redecorate the nursery this time, since this is the first child I got to paint the room and all of those fun things. But really, I don’t need much.

So, here is my very short list of things I still need before baby comes:

  • Diapers. I plan to cloth diaper. I’ve done it before and it isn’t that bad at all, to me. But those first weeks are enough transition on their own, so disposables it is. Pampers Swaddlers are the best for new borns. After a few months I’m just fine with walmart brand, but I don’t cheap out with brand new tiny-hinies.
  • Nursing pads. Yea, if you plan to nurse, buy these dudes ahead of time. Gracie came a couple weeks early and I didn’t have any on hand…not my finest hour. Find a brand you like and stick to it, they aren’t all created equal.
  • Sleep. It’s about to be hard to come by, so I’m doing my best to “stock up” on sleep now.

That’s it. I mean, you need a few more things for a first child, but I’ve already written about that before. By the second and third, there just isn’t that much you HAVE to have.

Besides sleep. Sleep is very important for baby number 3.

Leave a Reply

